Daybreakers – 2010

-Rated R
-Theater Release: January 8, 2010
-Directed By: Michael Spierig, Peter Spierig
-Starring: Ethan Hawke, Willem Dafoe and Sam Neill
-IMDb (6.5/10 rating): “In the year 2019, a plague has transformed most every human into vampires. Faced with a dwindling blood supply, the fractured dominant race plots their survival; meanwhile, a researcher works with a covert band of vamps on a way to save humankind.”

3/5 Stars

I watched this movie Monday night with my friend Ashley and her husband Jeremy and all of us agreed that it was a 3/5 stars…I don’t really know what I was expecting from this movie but it wasn’t exactly what we got out of it.

The world has been taken over by vampires and I found it very interesting how they made them seem like us on a daily basis:  they have jobs, they talk on cell phones, they order coffee and they drive cars.  The main differences are that they can’t be in the sun light and they drink blood.  They don’t have any supernatural powers, they sleep and they are fully functional when the sun is up they just can’t be out in direct sunlight.  Very interesting.

You find out very close to the beginning that the blood supply is running very low and that when vampires can not drink human blood over a short period of time they start to transform into hideous monsters that don’t have a lot of thought processes.  These monsters actually start eating themselves sometimes or other vampires which just speeds up the process of their degeneration. (That was another unique thing in the movie.) 

You find out throughout the movie that there is one vampire that has figured out how to become a human again and shares this with our lead man who in turn decides that he needs to try start curing the vampires to bring them back to becoming human…then he discovers an even better way to bring vamps back to the human side of things and the end becomes a big bloody mess!

There is a lot of blood in this movie…I mean  A LOT! I found the different spin on vampires to be very entertaining.  The actors are pretty darn good. But the ending just leaves you saying, “Really, that’s how you’re ganna end this?! That’s dumb!” 

I also couldn’t figure out why they didn’t treat humans like cattle.  Now before you start to say anything, remember that I come from a farming background.  They were using humans the same that we use cattle…for food.  So why not keep them in nice environments where you can breed them to make more humans which would in turn keep up the blood supply?! They literally just put them on these machines that drained their blood and when the demand rose they ended up draining the humans to death.  Come on vamps, get your acts together and treat the humans like cattle!!!!!!  LOL.  That was probably the one thing that I just kept going back to in my mind then they wouldn’t have had the problems that they were having!

Comments on: "Daybreakers – 2010" (8)

  1. ‘Come on vamps, get your acts together and treat the humans like cattle!’
    LMAO! I’ve had this movie sitting in Netflix queue foooorever. So it’s not a complete waste of time right?

    • Oh no, not at all! If it would have ended differently it would have been a 4/5 but the end just kinda left us all like……………..yeah, like that. LOL. So I’d say you should watch it! We watched it through Netflix online so you should def check it out before you have to have it delivered to you through the mail! 🙂

  2. LOL! Great review hon, but I would have given it a 4 out of 5. I really enjoyed this movie and liked the twists it had, very unique compared to other vamp movies. I understand what you mean about treating humans as vamps, but in this movie, vamps were the main race so it made sense. I loved the blood, having a vamp movie with no blood is just weird LOL! I do agree, the ending could have been better, but I still liked it. Still, once this movie was done, I wanted to see it again. Happy you sort of liked it though hon LOL! And please check it out Jen, it really isn’t a waste of time 🙂

    • LOL, no, no, no…treat the humans like COWS not vamps! Hahahaha, I said the vamps should treat the humans like cattle…you know breed them for food. That way they wouldn’t have run out of blood in the first place. 😛 I’m going to have to go back through my whole last paragraph and make sure I accidently didn’t mess that up but I know the very first sentence says treat them like cows. 😉 I did enjoy it but the end just got to me because it was like blood blood blood and then we’re done. Haha, and I was very not happy with one of the character deaths but I’m not going to say it here…

      • LOL! My bad, I mistyped. I meant treat them like cattle, not vamps. My bad, ignore that LOL! Your paragraph was fine. I think I know what character you mean, but still. Like I said, I didn’t mind the blood and most got what they deserved anyway LOL

      • Haha, no you’re fine! I know that I have typed mistakes before on blogs because I thought I read something I didn’t or I accidently mistyped something! 😉 I don’t mind all the blood either…I just wish that there was a reason for it. I can’t say much else on my thoughts because I don’t want to give anything away for anyone who is going to watch this movie. But the end just kind of kept getting bloody, kept getting bloody and then bam there are only 3 people standing…wish there would have been more ya know?

  3. Lol, you got a point there, cattle would be much happier

    • Yes cattle would have been much happier. I mean they get to walk around all day, eating and sleeping and drinking and eating some more and then sometimes having babies…if the vamps would have treated the humans the same then they would have had an endless supply of “food” and happier humans. LOL.

Leave a comment